Table of Contents

Thursday, September 4, 2014

W&HM PR Relay: Latest News from the Pace Ward MLR Sprint Series

Press Release from:


Pace Ward MLR Sprint Series

Round 6 Report

Teesside Autodrome - 30th August 2014

Anthony Lidster was the fastest man of the day and Class D victor for the fourth time this season, when he brought his Evo VI home at the top of the time sheets in round six of this year's Pace Ward MLR Sprint Series at Teesside Autodrome on Saturday 30th August. Lidster ended the event 2.14-seconds ahead of Ross Walker, who took the overall FTD last time out in a Class B car and showed that his performance in round five was no fluke, by setting the second-fastest time of the day overall at Teesside and scored another class victory by a considerable margin.

Standing two-miles east of Middlesborough, Teesside Autodrome has become a regular feature in the MLR calendar, with its sprint course providing competitors an almost full lap of the International circuit. The visit to the venue brings with it another dimension to the series, as the event's mid-afternoon start means that the competitive sessions run into the darkness hours.
Another change to the format was one made at the request of the competitors, who had asked for less practice runs and more competitive runs. It was therefore agreed that only three practice runs would take place - as opposed to the usual five or six - the first of which got underway at 4.00pm.
Fastest in these non-competitive sessions was Kenny Brookes in his Evo V, who went 0.5-second faster than the other Class D cars of Gary Hayward's Evo VII and Simon Griffiths' Evo III, with Walker showing signs of his later intentions being fourth-fastest overall and first of the Class B competitors. Driving his familiar Evo V Paul Allin was - as has been the case in so many events this season - the quickest in Class C, whilst the ever-improving Jamie Hollett was fastest in Class A - the category for near-to-standard road cars - in his Evo VI.
With all three practice runs completed without a hitch, the first of what was to be eight competitive runs commenced immediately afterwards. Having languished in fifth overall during the practice runs, Lidster turned up the wick for the first of the serious assaults on the Teesside course and straight away went faster than anyone else.

He then did it again on the second run and, as it transpired, his 50.22 was to be the winning time of the day. Even with the light starting to fade from run six onwards, Lidster continued to post a series of consistent times which were all within a second of each other.

However, behind him the battle to be second fastest overall was raging between Brookes, Hayward and Griffiths in Class D and Walker in Class B. In his eagerness to repeat his supremacy of the practice session, Brookes was perhaps pushing too hard and found himself loosing rather than gaining time as the evening went on.

In Class C - as he has been all year - Allin was again the best of his category, albeit a little surprised that he was not challenging for a position at the top of the overall leaderboard and instead, ended the day in seventh place. However, his primary target had been achieved by maintaining his 100% Class C winning record this season.

In fact it was Class A where the fight to be first was at its most fierce, with Hollett and Ian Fleming and his Evo II within fractions of a second of each other throughout the eight competitive runs. Eventually, it was Hollett that took the advantage on the final run of the day, his 55.01 providing him with a winning margin of 0.8 seconds - an impressive performance in the twilight!

Whilst it was Lidster's day in Class D, with his FTD on run number two, Walker also impressed by setting the second fastest time of the day overall in his Class B Evo VI. Also impressive in Class B was Keith Bryan, who took his Evo VI to second in the category for fast-road tuned cars and a final position of sixth overall.

Following the eighth and final run and, with no issues and perfect weather conditions throughout the event, series organisers reported they were delighted that everything had gone like clockwork. Consequently, it meant that all of the runs had concluded before it had become completely dark.

With just one round left to go at Snetterton on 4th October and competitors counting their best five scores from seven rounds, the results from this event mean that the Class C and D titles have now been secured by Allin and Lidster respectively. Whilst the spoils for Classes A and B are still up for grabs, 2014 marks the first year ever where Class titles have been wrapped up before the season finale.

The 2014 Pace Ward MLR Sprint Series is sponsored by: Pace Ward performance insurance, SuperPro suspension parts, AP Tuning, Ross Sport and HKS Europe.
Round 6 Class Winners
Class Class Sponsor DriverCarTime
A SuperPro Jamie Hollett Evo VI 55.01
B AP Tuning Ross WalkerEvo VI 52.36
C Ross Sport Paul AllinEvo V 53,29
D (FTD) HKS Europe Anthony Lidster Evo VI 50.22
Class leaders after round 6
Class Driver Car Points
A Ian Fleming Evo II 480
B Stephen Moore Evo VI 465
C Paul Allin Evo V 500
D Anthony Lidster Evo VI 495

Notes for editors

The Pace Ward MLR Sprint Series features four classes:
Class A: for standard road cars - sponsored by SuperPro
Class B: for fast road cars - sponsored by AP Tuning
Class C: for super-road/track day cars - sponsored by Ross Sport
Class D: for cars with unlimited modifications - sponsored by HKS
All cars must be road legal.

2014 Calendar
19 March: Castle Combe
26 April: Oulton Park
31 May: Blyton Park
28 June: Hethel
19 July: Kames
30 August: Teesside Autodrome
4 October: Snetterton

Class D MLR Winner
Class D winner & FTD: Anthony Lidster
(photo: Steve Jackman)
Class C MLR Winner
Class C winner: Paul Allin
(photo: Steve Jackman)
Class B MLR Winner
Class B winner: Ross Walker
(photo: Steve Jackman)
Class A MLR Winner
Class A winner: Jamie Hollett
(Photo: Darren O'Brien)

For further information please contact:
Pace Ward MLR Sprint Series
Darin Frow
+44 (0)7971 424472

No comments:

Post a Comment